The Civil War: The Redux, Slavery & General Lee Discussion

Discussion in 'History' started by Val1, Aug 16, 2018.

1. Val1

Val1 Member+

Arsenal
    Mar 12, 2004
    MD's Eastern Shore
    Club:
    Arsenal FC
    Yeah, but Lee, when he had the choice, chose to fight on the side of slavery and secession.

I get that he couldn't chose to fight against Virginia, but it's still treason, however principled the stand.

roadkit repped this.
  2. xtomx

xtomx Member+

Chicago Fire
    Sep 6, 2001
    Northern Wisconsin, but not far from civilization
    Club:
    Chicago Fire
    Of course, he could "choose to fight against Virginia," if he had wanted to choose.

Auriaprottu and Deadtigers repped this.
  3. song219

song219 BigSoccer Supporter

Apr 5, 2004
    La Norte
    Club:
    DC United
    Nat'l Team:
    Vanuatu
    and as an officer I'd guess that he took an oath to protect the US & its constitution. So much for honor.

Dan Loney, sitruc, Deadtigers and 4 others repped this.
  4. charlie15

charlie15 Member+

Mar 9, 2000
    Bethesda, Md
    Club:
    Arsenal FC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    He is a f**** traitor.

Dan Loney, sitruc and Deadtigers repped this.
  5. charlie15

charlie15 Member+

Mar 9, 2000
    Bethesda, Md
    Club:
    Arsenal FC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Revisionism, plagiarism, shitty source all of the above. This dude McDaniel is a
    white Supremacist & Neo Confederate and he is running for Senate. What a scumbag.
    Sick and tired of this canard about Lee as well...The dude was an slave owner and a traitor. Grant should have him "court- martialed" and hung.

Dyvel, sitruc, soccernutter and 4 others repped this.
  6. Bootsy Collins

Bootsy Collins Player of the Year

Oct 18, 2004
    Capitol Hill
    Club:
    DC United
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    It's also a bit misleading to say that he disapproved of slavery -- it tends to paint a picture of Lee in people's minds that's at odds with the facts.