The ascendancy of the London teams...happenstance, or is there a reason for it?

Discussion in 'Premier League: News and Analysis' started by superdave, Sep 4, 2002.

1. superdave

superdave Member+

Jul 14, 1999
    VB, VA
    Club:
    DC United
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    First, I admit I'm no expert on the history of the top flight in English football. I hope I'm not off base.

But there are currently 6 London teams in the EPL (Arsenal, Spurs, Chelsea, Fulham, Charlton, West Ham), right? My sense is that this is an unusually high number, historically.

The announcer for Saturday's Birmingham match said that Birmingham is England's 2nd biggest city...and there's 3 teams from there (WBA, Aston Villa, B-City). Again, my sense of the history of English football is that Villa is usually there, but the other two are not.

And Man City is up now...is Manchester the 3rd city?

Anyway, what I'm seeing (and forgive me if I'm off base with regard to the sizes of various English cities) is the ascendancy of the teams from the biggest cities, and the diminution of clubs like Coventry and Leicester City, and the Sheffield clubs.

Is it coincidence, or is there a reason for it? If so, what is the reason?

2. sinner78

sinner78 BigSoccer Supporter

Nov 7, 2001
    There are 6 london clubs but only arsenal ever win anything .Manure dominated the league in recent history .Liverpool and everton( to a lesser extent) dominated the 80's .Sides like leeds and Liverpool also had good times in the 70's .
    most of the trophies head to the big northern teams .
    Just because there happens to be 6 london teams in the premiership ,it doesn't mean that they are the dominant force .

3. lanman

lanman BigSoccer Supporter

Aug 30, 2002
    The number of London teams is generally about 5-7. In 1989/90 there were 8, but in 1979/80 only 3.