The accountants' thread

Discussion in 'Finance, Investing & Economy' started by tcmahoney, Sep 9, 2008.

1. tcmahoney

tcmahoney New Member

Feb 14, 1999
    Metronatural
    Who out there is an accountant, or wants to become one?

I want to become one. I've taken a few basic classes so far and have a 3.8 in those classes. Lot better than the first time around in college when I made the mistake of getting a journalism degree, that's for sure.

I'm finding accounting to be interesting -- it's like reporting, only in a very tight structure and telling stories with numbers instead of words. And it's like algebra with dollar signs, at least in the classes I've taken.

Tell us about your experiences and education and goals. I've got an idea of what I'd like to do with my career, but I'll post that later.

2. cleansheetbsc

cleansheetbsc Member+

Mar 17, 2004
    Club:
    --other--
    I've been doing it for nearly 20 years.

3. Dave Brull

Dave Brull Member

Mar 9, 2001
    Mayfield Hts, Ohio
    Club:
    Columbus Crew
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Lord, I am working through year-end adjusting entries on accrual accounts right now!

I just started a Masters in Accountancy at Cleveland State with a possible emphasis in audit. Unfortunately, my Bachelors is in Hotel/Restaurant Management so I am still working through several fundamental concepts. I'm taking Intermediate Accounting I now. My first test is in 13 days.

It's not difficult it's just that there is so much to learn.

4. tcmahoney

tcmahoney New Member

Feb 14, 1999
    Metronatural
    Aaaaaaannnddd ... ?

My bachelor's degree was in journalism. :rolleyes: But tell me about going for the masters degree while picking up the basics. I didn't know you could do that, and I'm very interested in that. And good luck on the test!

5. Dave Brull

Dave Brull Member

Mar 9, 2001
    Mayfield Hts, Ohio
    Club:
    Columbus Crew
    Nat'l Team:
    United States