Stuart Astill: What This Sport Should Be About

Discussion in 'Other Divisions' started by American Eagle, Oct 7, 2002.

1. American Eagle

American Eagle New Member

Oct 22, 2001
    Gwinn, MI, USA
    I am relatively new to the beautiful game, but this week, I've been following the story of one Stuart Astill, a 59-year-old man and lifelong Nottingham Forest supporter. In fact, before this weekend, Mr. Astill had been to 214 consecutive Forest league games, home and away. His streak was in jeopardy because Millwall had decided to ban all away support. Why?

Mostly because Millwall has a history of being unable to control themselves. Forest and five other clubs are not allowed to have any away support this season at the New Den, mostly because the Metropolitan Police said they could not effectively police the ground if away support was allowed.

The first thing about this that shocks me is how the League would allow such an imbalanced situation to occur. Support has a definite impact on the results of games in any sport. At the very least, if Millwall can not effectively ensure the safety of fans, no one should be allowed to come and the game should be played behind closed doors. This was debated heavily on MatchTalk on BBC Radio Nottingham, which is where I was introduced to the saga of Mr. Astill.

Now after hearing this, the Nottingham Evening Post decided to pick Stuart to be the guest writer to compile the fans' player ratings for the game, wanting to continue his run of over 29 years of support for NFFC. This was a totally legitimate job, and the paper obtained two press passes from Millwall, one for Astill, and one for beat writer Michelle Wilson.