Spreading out and formations

Discussion in 'Coach' started by bosterosoy, May 2, 2008.

1. bosterosoy

bosterosoy New Member

Jan 22, 2007
    In a House
    Well, this is my first year coaching and I have a U-14 team. Most of our players are U-12 but there weren't enough players so they got moved up to U-14. The rest of the players are the not as skilled/heavier U-14 players.

The first game we lost 3-0 and you could tell that it was the first time some players played 11 v 11. They were bunching up and we got one shot on goal, the rest of the time the ball was on our side of the field and the sweeper and goalkeeper played very well or else it would have been worse.

The second game we lost 4-1 but played much better. We scored first, then gave up 2 goals in 5 minutes. The game was 2-1 most of the way through but then we gave up 2 late goals.

The third game we began bunching up again but the team wasn't as good as the other two teams and we were down 1-0 until we gave up 2 goals with 2 minutes left.

I was wondering what drills you would recommend for teaching players to use the wings and spread out more? I did a scrimmage using two small nets for each team to shoot on (no goalkeepers) w/ one the left of the goalie box and the other on the right so that they would start thinking about using the other side of the field if there were too many defenders near them.

I also was wondering which formation to use. I have been using a 5-3-2. You would obviously have to know the players to suggest a formation, so here are some characteristics

Player 1: Goalkeeper, Very solid goalkeeper that has been keeping the score respectable
    Player 2: Sweeper. Fast, tall, a little uncoordinated but has a motor and big kick, doesnt stop running
    Player 3: Rightie, avg. speed, one of the better defenders, used as RB
    Player 4: A little on the plus side in weight, not so fast, big kick, aggressive