Soccer at SBC???

Discussion in 'USA Men: News & Analysis' started by Chuy, Dec 14, 2005.

1. Chuy

Chuy New Member

Aug 12, 2005
    The Feb. 10 friendly against Japan is scheduled to be played at SBC Park in San Francisco. Can someone please explain to me how the field and seating work out for a soccer match in a stadium shaped like this???:

[​IMG]

I am relatively new to the Bay Area and would like to go to this game, but I don't want to need binoculars to read the players' numbers. Have they ever held a major soccer match in this stadium?

2. texgator

texgator New Member

Oct 28, 2003
    Plano
    I think they typically take either the 1st baseline or the 3rd baseline and make it one of the touchlines and then create the pitch out of the infield and outfield along that side. So, one half of the park is right up against the touchline like normal while the other is set back quite a bit. The Puerto Rico USL team plays in a baseball stadium.

3. ThreeApples

ThreeApples Member+

Jul 28, 1999
    Smurf Village
    Club:
    San Jose Earthquakes
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Here's the layout for American football. Imagine it wider for soccer.
    [​IMG]

It has hosted a few friendlies involving Mexican clubs. At least one of them sold out. They plant grass on the infield after baseball season to prepare for the Emerald Bowl.

See the Fans & Travel board for more information.

4. biglove

biglove New Member

Feb 10, 2004
    berkeley, ca
    does anyone know when tickets will be available? i just checked ussoccer.com and there's no information.

5. TigersFIMA

TigersFIMA Member

Aug 27, 2005
    San Jose
    Club:
    San Jose Earthquakes
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
  6. Sandon Mibut

Sandon Mibut Member+

Feb 13, 2001
    If someone shanks one into McCovey Cove, will Sam's Army have a section of kayakers to retrieve them?

7. TigersFIMA

TigersFIMA Member

Aug 27, 2005
    San Jose
    Club:
    San Jose Earthquakes
    Nat'l Team:
    United States