I think it would be a good idea to list any made up or real scenarios here. So we can learn from each other, more often. Of course this idea is driven by wanting to know more, I'm sure others would enjoy this and benefit from it. If you can think of very difficult scenarios I'd love to try to figure out what is right to do, as well others will as well. Here is one scenario I will think of while I am typing it.. Red #8 is the keeper. Red #1 goes on a break away, shot is blocked. Blue goes on a counter attack. You realize that there is a new player in the keeper jersey, red #5. Then you see your AR with his flag up(for offside). Right after you blow the whistle to stop play, a red defender, #9, holds onto blue #2's jersey and pulls him down. He was at the edge of the PA with only that defender within 15 yards around, and only the keeper in front of him. What discipline must be taken? What is the proper restart? The only thing about making up scenarios is that I figure out the answer while I'm making it, there's no fun in figuring it out!!
First blush answer. Offside - restart at the point of the flag Yellow to Red #5 for USB and a possible yellow to Red #9, if the pull down was violent.
Indirect Kick is taken from outside the area. The kicker puts the shot directly on frame without a second touch. A defender on the post reaches and punches the ball away as the ball is heding towards the goal.
Now that is interesting... hmm Well there is no send off for DOGSO, since there is no scoring opportunity because another person needs to touch it before it can even think about being a goal. I would probably caution the one who handled the ball for USB, and then award a PK for the kicking team.
I'd agree with chiller on this. Definitely not DOGSO, Definitely a PK restart, the only question (and this is a you had to be there scenario) is if I would Caution or just warn the player.
Agree, and I don't think there is a right answer on the Caution. It depends on the game, the teams, and the situation. It was definately USB, but I usually like to get something out of a card. A warning with a polite you're a lucky bastard would probably be sufficient. He did turn a goal kick into a penalty kick which is probably enough penalty.
That does sound better. Thats something I'll remember and use that in the decision process of card vs no card.(bolded)
Depending on the game, you might get something out of the card. Alot of people are going to incorrectly, want a RC for DGH, also any time a player deliberately handles the ball like this is a candidate for YC/USB. You might create more problems than its worth by not carding in this case, but alot of that depends on how the game went to this point.
When it happened to me, I did give the PK, then thought for a second, and gave a yellow. It wasn't a "had-his-arm-out-when-he-shouldn't" handball, it was a "look-at-me-coach-I'm-a-keeper" handball. Irony alert: the PK missed.
I like NOT giving a card in this situation. The attacking team gets what they want, a PK. The defending team at this point has all their negative emotions aimed at the player who handled the ball. By cautioning, much of that negative emotion will be redirected toward you.
I somewhat agree with gosellit, but to me it's just about mandatory to take further action against a player who has attempted to deny a GSO by handling. There certainly can't be any valid complaints against it from the offending team, and to let a player off simply because they were unsuccessful in their attempt doesn't seem fair to the attacking team.
I saw this happen as a spectator, and I still can't believe it. Red #10 is heading towards the area and beats the White keeper off the dribble about 10 yards outside the box. Red #10 is intercepted at the top of the arc by White #3, who falls between Red #10 and the ball (clumsiness, no foul) and dominoes Red #10 with him. While falling, Red #10 pokes it towards the net from the edge of the box. Red #14 and White #2 are both racing back from the right and even with the penalty spot when Red #10 made the "shot". White #2 shanks a clearance off the right post and directly to Red #14, who heads the ball in. Goal or offisde?
If I read this correctly: The last defender is White #2 (PK spot), 2LD is White #3(between PA line and penalty arc), White GK is out of the play. That would put Red#14 even with White#2(last defender) and in an offside position when ball is played by Red#10. The decision at that point is whether, Red#14 became involved in active play by interfering with an opponent, White#2. Without knowing the exact position of Red#14 and White#2, I cannot made that judgement. I can see it going either way.
Red 14 is offside when the shot is taken (even with White 2, but we are assuming the keeper is well upfield still, having been beaten off the dribble 10 yards outside the area, so White 2 is the last defender, not the 2nd-last). Barring any other touch by a red player, he would be offside when he touched the ball or interfered with play/opponent. However, there are two questions we can't answer without being there: 1. Did Red 14 interfere in any way with White 2 when white attempted to clear the ball? If yes, offside. 2. If no, then was White 2's shanked clearance a "controlled" play that reset offside, or was it simply a misplay? If it was an uncontrolled deflection ITOOTR, offside. If no, white 2 was in control of the ball when he played it, then no offside and a goal, however unfortunate the carom off the post. We'll never get a definitive answer on this one. Point one is YHTBT. And we've already beat point number 2 to death as to what constitutes "control" as resets offside, with no real resolution.
Erratta: Red #14 WAS in an offside postion when the ball was played. What was called: White #2 was able to get 2 yards between he and Red #14, and did clear the ball without any contact from Red #14. Obviously, Red #14 was not offside when the ball richocheted to him, as the erstaz clearance was a new play. However, since Red #14 was continually pursuing the play and gained an advantage by being in that position, the AR hit the flag, and the CR disallowed the goal.