Red Card on Last Defender (Man City-Chelsea)?

Discussion in 'Referee' started by JohnR, Oct 19, 2004.

1. JohnR

JohnR Member+

Jun 23, 2000
    Chicago, IL
    First, I am an amateur, so please have patience.

Was puzzled by an incidence in the Man City-Chelsea game this Saturday. A long ball is hit to Anelka, who is 1 vs. 1 with the final defender. As Anelka runs into the box with possession of the ball, the defender bangs into him from behind (possibly intentionally, possibly not -- the field was very slippery), sending Anelka to the ground. Whistle is blown, PK is signalled, and a yellow card is given. To loud boos from the home crowd, which wanted a red card.

OK, so I went to look this up in the rulebook. Found nothing about the last defender being a red card offense, although that must be somewhere (where?). However, The Laws of the Game say - "A player is sent off and shown the red card if he commits any of the following seven offences: 5. denies an obvious goalscoring opportunity to an opponent moving towards the player’s goal by an offence punishable by a free kick or a penalty kick"

Huh? This does not indicate discretion on the part of the referee. And most certainly, this was an obviously goalscoring opportunity that was punished by a PK. So why only the yellow?

2. erictheking

erictheking Member

Feb 2, 2004
    The ref bottled it. Simple as.

3. Englishref

Englishref Member

Jul 25, 2004
    London, England
    It's actually pretty simple really. Howard Webb considered Anelka to be moving away from goal (therefore not fulfilling the definition of a GSO). He probably also considered Anelka not be in control of the ball (it was 4 or 5 yards ahead of him).

However, the main point is whether or not Anelka was considered to be going towards the goal, which in most people's opinion over here, he wasn't, and the yellow card was probably correct. :cool:

4. HeadHunter

HeadHunter Member

May 28, 2003