Hi, the following situation happened during a men's match I was refereeing. I blew the whistle to signal for a free kick. As I was approaching the spot, the defending player stood next to the ball preventing a quick restart. I saw very clearly that the offensive player KNEW the defender stood literally next to him and the ball. Still, he decided to kick the ball right at the feet of the defender. The ball trickled away and play continued. Obviously, the offensive team expected me to blow the whistle for a caution against the defending player or at the very least give them a formal restart on the free kick (with 10 yards). I did neither and let play continued. My reasoning was that the offensive player forfeited his right for that 10 yards when he blatantly kicked the ball at the defending player (hoping to provoke a caution no doubt) instead of asking for (or waiting for me to give) the 10 yards. Was I correct about this decision?