Public Transportation?

Discussion in 'Washington Freedom' started by jrevs, Dec 23, 2008.

1. jrevs

jrevs New Member

Oct 21, 2007
    MA & DC
    Club:
    New England Revolution
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    I'm a car-less college student in DC at the moment, and was just wondering if there was any way to get to the SoccerPlex by public transportation? I know there is a commuter rail stop some distance away, but it only runs on weekdays... Any ideas out there?

2. Washington Freedom

Washington Freedom New Member

Sep 3, 2008
    Boyds, Md.
    Club:
    Washington Freedom
    We're trying to figure something out but as of the moment the closest Metro stop is Shady Grove, which is still a few miles away from the SoccerPlex. One option might be the Freedom Fighters - they have talked about helping car-less members get to and from the SoccerPlex via a carpool system or something. I don't know the specifics, I will let Kevin take that.

As soon as we have something lined up we will let fans know. But be assured we are trying to find a way to solve the problem.

3. StarCityFan

StarCityFan BigSoccer Supporter

Aug 2, 2001
    Greenbelt, MD
    Club:
    Washington Freedom
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    We haven't worked out the details yet, but I'm figuring on some online way of saying, "I'm in such-and-such neighborhood, and I want to get to Saturday's game" combined with other people being able to say, "I'm in such-and-such neighborhood and have room for two passengers." Worse comes to worst, and we'll get someone to pick you up at a Red Line station off the I-270 corridor. No Fan Left Behind (tm)!

4. StarCityFan

StarCityFan BigSoccer Supporter

Aug 2, 2001
    Greenbelt, MD
    Club:
    Washington Freedom
    Nat'l Team:
    United States