Outside spin

Discussion in 'Player' started by hambone, Aug 5, 2004.

1. hambone

hambone New Member

Apr 23, 2002
    I am just learning how to put outside spin on the ball consistently it is sweet. Does anyone else use outside (right foot shot curving right) spin? I love it now and I just want to improve my accuracy more. It is so perfect to just test the keeper with to get rebounds though if you don't really have a lot of space. You can just aim for the middle and go for the rebound because the ball turns all of the sudden as compared to inside spin where it is more predictable. And with outside I can still hit it as hard as possible! Well, I can with inside too now but that took tons of practice.

Anyone have any thoughts or tips on aiming or practicing outside spin on the ball?

2. Richie

Richie Red Card

May 6, 1999
    Brooklyn, NY, United
    I used it all the time. When I found myself in the middle of the field or to a player on the same side, and wanted to pass to a flank player on the right flank in the air. I put the ball over his right shoulder. No way a defender even marking close would get to the ball because the ball was moving away from the defender who is between the goal and the defender inside the field. Try doing it with a glider passes which are short higher passes as well as longer passes.

Shooting a hard low shot to the right side using the right foot the ball moves away from the keeper. Got to have confidence in your skill to make it happen.

As a coach I had a corner kick taker who could do it with his right foot from the right side of the field. So the ball acts as an inswinger using the right foot.

He would set the keeper up for it by making the first 3 or 4 with his right foot outswing further and further out. Then all of a sudden when he had the keeper playing a little further out. He would try to sneak an inswingger moving behind him on the near post. He got some goals doing it. I lost him to the navy unfortuneately.

3. servotron