Discussion in 'Introductions Board' started by Justink001, Dec 2, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Justink001

    Justink001 New Member

    Aug 20, 2004
    Here's a question for referees...

    On a 2 (player A and B) on 1 break away, the last defender fell and became 2 on 0 break away. The goalie came out to challenge the attacker A but the
    Attacker A passed ball to attacker B who kicks the ball into the net.

    The goal was allowed. I thought the offside should have been called since there was only one defender, the goalie, when the ball was passed by attacker A to attacker B.

    Can anyone explain the rule regarding the above situation?
  2. IASocFan

    IASocFan Moderator
    Staff Member

    Aug 13, 2000
    Sporting Kansas City
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    There are several considerations here. Obviously both players were in the attacking half, and there was only one defender (the keeper) between attackers A and B and the goal. The only additional consideration is whether B was ahead of the ball when A passed it. You can't be offside if you're behind the ball when it is passed to you.

    Oh, and welcome to bigsoccer. We (the soccer community) are always looking for new referees and better informed players, coaches, MEDIA, and fans. I suggest you check with your local soccer organization and take the referee class. It's very expensive; in fact our club will pay your fees, if you ref 3 or 4 games (with pay).
  3. Chicago1871

    Chicago1871 Member

    Apr 21, 2001
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    We have the answer. Thanks to all who contributed to this thread.

Share This Page