Obscure football terms in different languages

Discussion in 'The Beautiful Game' started by Tom_W, Jul 5, 2017.

1. Tom_W

Tom_W New Member

Colwyn Bay
    Wales
    Jun 23, 2017
    London
    Hi everyone,

My name's Tom Williams and I'm a journalist from the AFP news agency.

I'm writing a book - a global football glossary - which is due for publication next year and I'm hoping to tap into the collective knowledge of the Big Soccer community as part of my research.

I'm looking for obscure, little-known football words and phrases from around the world. Does anyone have any personal favourites?

I'm already familiar with the well-known ones - chilena, rabona, sombrero, petit pont, Wembley-Tor etc. - so what I'm looking for now are more unusual terms from far-flung places. I basically just want to make sure I don't miss any gems.

Any contributions will be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks,

Tom

Moishe repped this.
  2. comme

comme Moderator
    Staff Member

Feb 21, 2003
  3. comme

comme Moderator
    Staff Member

Feb 21, 2003
  4. comme

comme Moderator
    Staff Member

Feb 21, 2003
    Tom_W and benficafan3 repped this.
  5. giles varley

giles varley Member+

Oct 8, 2013
    nottingham uk
    Club:
    Leeds United AFC
    Nat'l Team:
    England
    Trivela - outside of the foot free kick technique made famous by brazilians branco, éder, nelinho, roberto carlos etc)
    It means to hit the ball with three toes..

benficafan3 repped this.
  6. Tom_W

Tom_W New Member

Colwyn Bay
    Wales
    Jun 23, 2017
    London
    Thanks both.

7. The problem with "obscure" words is that there is no one to one translation, so it is difficult to clarify what it means.

8. This one though is clear:
    "Een Bep Bakhuys doen"
    From wikipedia:
    "In zijn eerste interland na zijn terugkeer, op 11 maart 1934 tegen België, maakte hij zijn beroemdste doelpunt: een vallende kopbal. Een dergelijk doelpunt wordt in Nederland nog altijd een goal à la (Beb) Bakhuys genoemd."