[NQC] Soccer ref says he's pressing charges

Discussion in 'San Jose Earthquakes' started by ggayle, Nov 23, 2004.

1. bsman

bsman Member+

May 30, 2001
    MadCity
    Club:
    San Jose Earthquakes
    Re: [NQR]Soccer ref says he's pressing charges

Guy - this doesn't surprise me one bit. There are a lot of A-holes out there coaching little kids, and it makes me wonder how parents could entrust their children to idiots like that. I have been refereeing CYSA games for 12 years, and during this time have seen the parents and coaches of even younger ages groups (U-10, U-12) act like every game is the seventh game of the World Series. And of course, like the little sponges they are, the children pick up on this and reflect the attitudes of their parents and coaches. The sports culture in this world has gone seriously awry, and something needs to be done lest sports become less a healthy, stress-relieving activity and simply another martial exercise in war. I look back very fondly to the days I was a child when sports consisted of kids in the neighborhood by themselves, without supervision (or interference) by adults. Maybe this is the model that works best; I am beginning to think that organized sports for sub-high school kids may be a poor idea...

2. due time

due time Member+

Mar 1, 1999
    Santa Clara

bsman, I know you didn't mean it this way - but please don't paint us all with a broad brush. For every idiot coach there are hundreds who volunteer a huge amount of time and care deeply about the general welfare of their kids, not just how well they play soccer or whether they win.

What I am about to say is not the least bit of an excuse for the coach's behavior. He should be arrested and jailed, let alone allowed to coach again.

But what happened to the league's discipline? I see lot's of questions raised about how well this league and even this ref went about dealing with what was obviously a brewing situation.