Napoli or Avellino?

Discussion in 'Italy: Southern Clubs' started by Melito Irpino, Feb 17, 2007.

1. Melito Irpino

Melito Irpino Member

Feb 17, 2007
    Corona, CA
    Club:
    SSC Napoli
    Hi,

I'm new to these threads. I'm a long time soccer fan from the US with Italian roots who always supports Italy in the world cup but never had followed the Serie A or B until this year. Most of the coverage is on the big clubs like Milan, Inter, Juve, etc. but being of southern origin I want to pick a southern team.

My grandfather was from a small town in the Avellino province called Melito Irpino. Do you know if people in that area would typically root for the Provincial team Avellino or the larger Regional Team Napoli? Or even one of the larger Serie A teams?

Is it cool to root for both Napoli and Avellino? I saw a Youtube video of a big riot when the two teams played so I can imagine that they are fierce rivals. I'm going to travel to Melito and meet some cousins for the first time so I wanted to get a heads up on the Calcio landscape.

Thanks in advance for any thoughts you may have.

2. dor02

dor02 Member

Aug 9, 2004
    Melbourne
    Club:
    UC Sampdoria
    Nat'l Team:
    Italy
    It's best to root for one of them if you plan to go to one of the derbies. You can't show your support both sides at the stadiums.

3. forzareggina

forzareggina Member

Reggina
    United States
    Aug 24, 2004
    Columbus, Ohio, USA
    Club:
    Reggina Calcio
    I would say root for avellino... because i hate when people root for a team because they are good or a bigger club

but then again.. napoli would be much easier to follow in terms of coverage

4. Melito Irpino

Melito Irpino Member

Feb 17, 2007
    Corona, CA
    Club:
    SSC Napoli