My first year coaching thread

Discussion in 'Coach' started by pething101, Aug 5, 2002.

1. pething101

pething101 Member

Jul 31, 2001
    Smyrna, Ga
    Club:
    West Ham United FC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Hello. This is my first year coaching thread. Please feel free to offer your comments and suggestions as I suffer through my first year as a soccer coach.

2. pething101

pething101 Member

Jul 31, 2001
    Smyrna, Ga
    Club:
    West Ham United FC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Well, a little info would be a good.

First year coach at an inner city school in Fayetteville. I am the asst coach for the varsity and if we have enough kids I will coach the jv team.

Played soccer all through school up until graduation. Never very good but dependable as a defender. Of course, I last played in 1989 so that makes it tough.

Never taken any courses in coaching soccer, so any tips one can offer would be greatly appreciated.

Guess that is a good start.

3. pething101

pething101 Member

Jul 31, 2001
    Smyrna, Ga
    Club:
    West Ham United FC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    8/5/02

Decent practice today. Had nine kids. One new kid.

Ran 2 miles in 15 minutes. Sadly, need to get that down to 2 miles in 12 minutes according to the coach.

Played some 3 on 1 keep away.

Need to work on trapping and passing. The basics are not our strong suit.

Played some 4 v 4 short side and saw some potential.

Need some different drills to emphasize trapping and passing.

4. cpwilson80

cpwilson80 Member+

Mar 20, 2001
    Boston
    Club:
    San Jose Earthquakes
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    What age group do you have?

5. pething101

pething101 Member

Jul 31, 2001
    Smyrna, Ga
    Club:
    West Ham United FC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    9th - 12th grade. So far, only one senior.

6. sydtheeagle

sydtheeagle New Member

May 21, 2002
    Oxfordshire
    Re: 8/5/02