MLS vs. J-League

Discussion in 'MLS: General' started by Lolonearbyyolo, Apr 28, 2006.

1. Lolonearbyyolo

Apr 17, 2006
    Section 138
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Anyone a fan and knowledgable about both J-League and MLS?

I was a resident in Tokyo when J-League launched back in the early 90's...I wasn't super impressed at the time, but I suspect it has gotten a lot better since then, like MLS.

How does J-League compare with MLS these days?

2. GutBomb

GutBomb Red Card

Aug 28, 2003
    Outside Boston
    j-league teams typically perform poorly in the AFC champions league but also typically beat MLS teams in preseason friendlies. take that as you wish.

3. wufc

wufc Member

May 1, 2005
    UC Irvine
    Club:
    Los Angeles Galaxy
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    They also seem have a bigger, and more hardcore fanbase. The MLS will never come close to the crowds of Urawa. And I'm guessing that soccer is pretty big in Japan, and gets plenty of media coverage now.

4. L.A. SOCCER NATION

L.A. SOCCER NATION ONLY IN L.A.

Jun 17, 2005
    LOS ANGELES
    They also have more money to spend than MLS.

5. AndyMead

AndyMead Homo Sapien

Nov 2, 1999
    Seat 12A
    Club:
    Sporting Kansas City
    And the sample size of that would be exactly how many games?

6. zoogie

zoogie New Member

Apr 10, 2006
    anyone the j-league average attendance over the years?

7. KaptPowers

KaptPowers Member

Dec 29, 2003
    Arlington, MA
    Club:
    New England Revolution
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    I've read that a lot of the "hardcore" stuff is choreographed. Also, take into account the size of the country. I think we have as many soccer fans here as they do, we're just spread out all over the damn place. If you could hop a train and get to an MLS stadium inside of 5 hours almost anywhere in the nation our attendance would skyrocket.

8. RichardL

RichardL BigSoccer Supporter

May 2, 2001
    Berkshire
    Club:
    Reading FC
    Nat'l Team: