Mexicans-Only Policy

Discussion in 'Chivas' started by Pinowski AP, Jul 18, 2010.

1. Pinowski AP

Pinowski AP Member

Jun 25, 2009
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Hi guys,

I'm studying the connections between national identity and sport. I'm aware of Chivas's tradition of fielding only Mexican-born players and was wondering how fans perceive the model in place.

Thanks for your input. :)

2. Naquisima

Naquisima Member+

Sep 18, 2008
    Long Beach!
    Club:
    CD Chivas de Guadalajara
    Nat'l Team:
    Mexico
    I love it...and not only from a nationalist point of view.

Although we have a smaller pool of players to choose from, it's ok because it forces us to work with Fuerzas Basicas and in turn, providing future NT material.

Y como dicen...si Chivas anda bien, la selección también ;)

3. Phenom

Phenom Member+

Apr 9, 2007
    Oregon
    Club:
    CD Chivas de Guadalajara
    Nat'l Team:
    Mexico
    Agreed with everything Naca said.

However, it can become frustrating at times because you have a very limited amount of transfer options. Most of the Mexico's quality players are in Europe and the ones that are in Mexico are staples on their teams. I wouldn't change it for anything, though.

4. Lil Puppet

Lil Puppet Member+

Feb 11, 2007
    A Basket
    Club:
    FC Illychivets Mariupol
    Nat'l Team:
    Zimbabwe
    I think it's racist and xenophobic.

There, you can run along now and tell your friends that a mexican sees it in the same light as you.

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kN_ula5loEg"]YouTube- guadalajara[/ame]

1 person likes this.
  5. Banner or Hulk?

Mar 11, 2006