Linux for Beginners

Discussion in 'Technology' started by snigacookie, Jun 23, 2005.

1. snigacookie

snigacookie New Member

Sep 28, 2004
    So I'm getting sick of all the new apps that are coming out for win xp and are just really hampering my pc's performance. I'm a college student so this laptop that I have will have to last me for a much longer time. There is no getting around it. I want a distro that is beginner friendly and can replace my windows xp system. I don't use it for anything other than word, excel, podcasting, and the internet. What can you guys recomend for me?

2. X X I

X X I Red Card

Apr 9, 2004
    Ubuntu. You can download a free copy and burn it to a CD and boot from the CD. That way you a try it. It's a pretty good distro from what I have heard.

http://www.ubuntulinux.org/

3. Mad_Bishop

Mad_Bishop Member

Oct 11, 2000
    Columbia, MO
    Download and try a distro that runs from a disk. Then see if you like it, are comfortable, etc. One good one to try is Knoppix. Other than that, any of the major distros are probably going to be your best bet, I hear the new REd Hat is pretty solid

4. Foosinho

Foosinho New Member

Jan 11, 1999
    New Albany, OH
    Club:
    Columbus Crew
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    I liked Ubuntu's live CD, but my laptop didn't have enough RAM to run it Live. I've been upgrading our old Red Hat 8 boxes here at work to SuSE 9.3, which is totally awesome when it comes to easy box configuration. YaST rocks my world.

5. peruytu

peruytu Member

Jan 19, 2003
    New York
    Club:
    Universitario de Deportes
    Nat'l Team:
    Peru
    Take your pick here:

www.distrowatch.com

I would personally recommend either Suse or Ubuntu.. with Knoppix if you dont want to install anything.

6. patrickdavila

patrickdavila Member

Jan 13, 1999
    Easton, PA
    Club:
    New York Red Bulls
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Some noobie distros:
    Bootables (try them out without installing):