International Business...

Discussion in 'Finance, Investing & Economy' started by ToonUSA, Jun 5, 2007.

1. ToonUSA

ToonUSA New Member

Jan 11, 2005
    I've been considering possibly majoring in IB and I was wondering if anyone had some first hand information on it. Does anyone here have a degree or know anyone with a degree in International Business?

2. gremista

gremista New Member

Jun 27, 2001
    Budapest, Hungary
    I have a degree from teh UNiversity of South Carolina's International Business program. Graduated in 93 and understand the program is much different now. Moreover, there are many options at this point whereas at that time it was South carolina's MIBS programm and Thunderbird for US options. If you wish, pm me and i can give you more information

3. Wingtips1

Wingtips1 Member+

May 3, 2004
    Club:
    Liverpool FC
    if you are dead set on 'business' as your major, specialize in accounting or finance (though I will always recommend going the route of sciences/liberal arts to undergrads). throw in a minor in fields such as international relations, east asian studies, etc. it is a much more well rounded way of doing the same thing.

4. bostonsoccermdl

bostonsoccermdl Moderator
    Staff Member

Apr 3, 2002
    Denver, CO
    Why do you suggest Finance or Accounting vs Bus. management, marketing, or any other bus. field?

It seems to me, unless you want to be an accountant, accounting isnt the way to go.

I was a finance major, and I think what you are getting at is that sometimes management and marketing majors aren't taken as seriously by certain employers as other business degrees.

This might or might not be true, but those employers that are that picky usually are only interviewing the small top % of candidates, so it really doesnt matter IMO.

So, in other words, unless you are in top of your class, you are putting the cart b/4 the horse, so to speak.

5. Wingtips1

Wingtips1 Member+

May 3, 2004
    Club:
    Liverpool FC