if you were a referee

Discussion in 'Referee' started by goliath74, Oct 28, 2009.

1. goliath74

goliath74 Member

May 24, 2006
    Hollywood, FL, United States
    Club:
    FC Dynamo Kyiv
    Nat'l Team:
    Ukraine
    Two episodes.

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H__RflIMoW8"]YouTube - Dnipro - Dynamo[/ame]

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zCs0Nb1DX4g"]YouTube - Dnipro - Dynamo[/ame]

I would like to get general opinion on what punishment both infractions merited. Please disregard the punishment that referee did hand out. Don't let it influence your opinion.

2. Prawn Sandwich

Oct 1, 2003
    Bhutan
    Moved to appropriate forum

3. code1390

code1390 Moderator
    Staff Member

Nov 25, 2007
    Club:
    Tottenham Hotspur FC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Both decisions are spot on in my opinion.

4. Elizondo

Elizondo Member

Jul 6, 2009
    USA
    I AM a referee

The first is clearly serious foul play. Correct decision, but I would prefer to see the referee show that card a lot faster for match control purposes. This incident needs no evaluation of prior incidents, etc., because it is, to use the USSF terminology, "100% misconduct". This challenge is insane, both legs above the ball, one of them straight legged, high speed, etc. He has clearly put his opponent at serious risk of injury. The camera's angle of view is excellent, the referee's angle of view, though different, is also good enough to properly judge the nature of this challenge.