If the World Cup was formed later...

Discussion in 'Soccer History' started by Roehl Sybing, Mar 12, 2006.

1. Roehl Sybing

Roehl Sybing Guest

...would there be more limits on this and other national team tournaments imposed by clubs? And would that hinder the growth of soccer at the international level?

This premise is, of course, most valid if the World Cup was not essential to the growth of club soccer and the prominence club soccer enjoys today.

I'm not an expert on telling when the World Cup really became a big thing, but say the inaugural World Cup was pushed back thirty years. Or more so, when the television furthers the idea of a global setting accessible to everyone. Would clubs have more of an influence on the national federations if demand for national teams was fostered late?

Consider that the ongoing World Baseball Classic is touted as one of the highest level tournaments in that sport, but it is in its infancy. MLB teams have been able to place limits on the national teams in using pitchers. Clubs in soccer would be hard-pressed to wage a similar fight and earn similar results regarding World Cup play, but only because it is the premier tournament in international sports, and that is primarily because of the history it enjoys. Had it less of a history, I imagine it would be more difficult for the World Cup today to increase in prominence at the rate it did.

2. Bruzza

Bruzza New Member

Feb 9, 2006
    Your backyard