I am New to World Cup

Discussion in 'FIFA and Tournaments' started by momentum, Nov 18, 2004.

1. momentum

momentum New Member

Apr 7, 2004
    Well Soccer in general!!! How does qualifying work. Now that US has won thier group what happens next? Thanks for the help!!!

2. giggster11

giggster11 Member

May 15, 2003
    Southern Cal
    Welcome to soccer!

Next, we play the Hexagonal against the other 5 teams that qualified from their groups. Mexico, Costa Rica, Panama, Guatemala, and Trinidad/Tobago. 2 games against each team, Home and Away. Top 3 automatically qualify for the World Cup. 4th gets to play against an Asian team for a spot. Hope that answers your question.

3. Sachsen

Sachsen Member+

Aug 8, 2003
    Broken Arrow, Okla.
    Club:
    Sporting Kansas City
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Welcome to the sport and the boards! Thanks for the questions!

The most important thing to remember is that as of right now, no one in the world has qualified to play in the World Cup in 2006 except for Germany, who qualify automatically as the host country.

Every region runs their qualifying tournament differently. CONCACAF (North and Central America and the Caribbean) goes something like this:

The round we just completed had three groups of four countries each. The top two countries in each group qualified for the next round, for a total of six participants. From Group A, the US came in first and Panama came in second; for Group B, Guatemala 1st, Costa Rica 2nd; for Group C, Mexico 1st, Trinidad and Tobago 2nd. So those are the final 6 countries from our region.