How Ironic

Discussion in 'NWSL' started by house18, Sep 16, 2003.

1. house18

house18 Member

Jun 23, 2003
    St. Louis, MO
    I saw this in a post about the demise of the WUSA:

"There are going to be a thousand posts about how sad everyone is and what a shame it was and all that, but there were plenty of us around here who strictly dealt with the facts, weren't all that excited about watching women playing soccer, and just in general didn't really give a crap."

I find this ironic with all of the people getting mad about the way soccer is percieved in America and complaining about how it is the world's sport and everyone (media, ESPN, sports radio, non-soccer people) should accept it and love it. It seems to me that this is the attitude that many on this board complain about. The way I see it, this sucks! I am a soccer coach and have coached both women and men and now those women (u14-college) won't have a pro league to dream of. This also just fuels the fire of the anti-soccer crowd. It's very sad and anyone who gloats over this (as this poster did later in his post) is just a complete idiot.

2. FlashMan

FlashMan Member

Jan 6, 2000
    'diego
    Club:
    --other--
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    There are a lot of idiots in the world.

In fact, they're the majority.

Having said that, I do share in your pain. Yesterday sucked and today is not much better.

3. uniteo

uniteo Member+

Sep 2, 2000
    Rockville, MD
    Club:
    DC United
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    There will be a league.

There has to be some business model that can at least break even on 4,000 or 5,000 fans a game, which is less than the league average. The problem with the WUSA was that investors and founders thought that WWC-level crowds would be flocking to see the game.

It may be modest, but there will be a league (well, there is the W-League already, and there was before the WUSA - check it out)

4. Spartacus

Spartacus Member

May 20, 2001
    The NO SOCCER Zone