Help with confidence

Discussion in 'Soccer Boots' started by soccerchicwv18, Sep 23, 2003.

1. soccerchicwv18

soccerchicwv18 New Member

Sep 23, 2003
    Augusta, WV
    Hi...

I'm new to BigSoccer and I was wondering if someone could help me with my situation....

I've been playing soccer for a while now, but ever since I started playing high school soccer, I have trouble with my confidence. I've heard about players sometimes becoming "burnt out" from a sport. Sometimes my confidence level gets so low that I want to quit. Right now, it seems I've lost my passion for the sport, so does anyone have any suggestions as to what I can do about this?

Thanks

2. Treetaliano

Treetaliano Member

Jun 29, 2002
    San Diego
    What do you mean by confidence?

Do you mean that while you are out there playing, that you are more worried about screwing up than playing your regular game? Or are you merely saying that you are burnt out?

As a kid, I played both baseball and soccer, and one day I just had no more desire to play baseball, and that was it. If that is your case, then I dont think I have any real suggestion...

However as far as confidence in your game and whether or not it affects your on field performance, really just try to go back to what you know you do well, and not dwell on things you may make an error on during a match.

All players in all sports have times where they go thru poor spells, and it's just something you've got to work thru.

Welcome to BS btw. :)

3. hambone

hambone New Member

Apr 23, 2002
    this same thing is happening to me right now it is screwed up I feel like I can't do anything right on the pitch, so I'm just like wtf is the point in playing when it is screwing my team?

4. Pebotodi

Pebotodi New Member

Jul 21, 2003
    Take some time off from playing competitive games, and play for fun and practice.