Graphics Software Help

Discussion in 'Technology' started by Iceblink, Oct 8, 2010.

1. Iceblink

Iceblink Member

Oct 11, 1999
    Chicago
    Club:
    Ipswich Town FC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    I have been using the same graphics software for years. It's called Fireworks. Macromedia used to make it. I've been using it so long that I actually upgraded in 2004 after several years of using the previous version. I got a substantial educator discount on the software.

I've been wanting to upgrade recently. I'm no pro. I just make web sites for my own use... amateurish stuff.

Anyway, here's the thing. When I use fireworks (which used to be manufactured by macromedia and isn't even made anymore), I can open up a png file that's broken up into small layers. Individual things that make up a whole picture...

When I've tried some things recently, none of them seem to recognize the little pieces... and just open the file as one big lump.

Anyone have any ideas for cheap/free graphics programs that I can use that'll do what I need them to? I have tried serif drawplus and the gimp... but they both open as a picture instead of the pieces I need.

Thanks.

2. Bonnie Lass

Bonnie Lass Moderator
    Staff Member

Lyon
    Norway
    Oct 20, 2000
    Up top
    Club:
    Olympique Lyonnais
    -- Fireworks is still being made, but it's by Adobe now. Same with Dreamweaver and Flash. On their site it says if you have Macromedia Fireworks 8 you can upgrade to the new one for $150.

I'm trying to understand your problem. Does Fireworks no longer work? And did *all* the PNGs you opened in Fireworks come in as layers? Or just the ones you created?

3. Iceblink

Iceblink Member

Oct 11, 1999
    Chicago
    Club:
    Ipswich Town FC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States