First credit card?

Discussion in 'Finance, Investing & Economy' started by JLZ286, Jan 24, 2008.

1. JLZ286

JLZ286 Member

Nov 6, 2004
    Ann Arbor
    Club:
    DC United
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    I am 21 years old and I am looking into getting my first credit card. Obviously im not just going to go out on a shopping spree when I get it but I thought that I should eventually have at least 1. I was wondering which is the best one to start with? Im currently a college student so is there some sort of student card that would be good? I was also wondering if its going to be a problem that right now I dont have a job. I do work, at the same place for 2 years now, but its only during summers and winters when im off of school.

2. Matt in the Hat

Matt in the Hat Moderator
    Staff Member

Sep 21, 2002
    Brooklyn
    Club:
    New York Red Bulls
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    American Express. And get the green one not the blue or plum one. They force you to pay everything back each month. Plus the benefits are great.

Visa/MC and Discover are debt traps. Stay away if you can.

3. JLZ286

JLZ286 Member

Nov 6, 2004
    Ann Arbor
    Club:
    DC United
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Really America Express? Some of the people I have asked have told me not to get an American Express, that it wouldnt be good as a first card. I was looking at the Citi card for college students. It seemed pretty good to me but are these kind of cards just ripoffs?

4. Matt in the Hat

Staff Member

Sep 21, 2002
    Brooklyn
    Club:
    New York Red Bulls
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    No. I'm bullshitting you.

Why did these people say that?

All credit cards are ripoffs. To me, AMEX forces you to be more diciplined as opposed to Visa/MC/Discover who will let you pay those concert tickets off for years. Trouble is a face value $30 ticket will end up costing you triple or more.