EFL :: NUFC v Burton Albion :: Keith Stroud

Discussion in 'Referee' started by JayRockers!, Apr 5, 2017.

Tags:
  1. JayRockers!

    JayRockers! Member+

    Aug 4, 2001


    Evidently the referee chalked off a penalty and gave a free kick. Precedent? Mis-application of the rules? Some new rule change regarding encroachment? If/when there's video, I'll follow up.

    Thx,

    Jay!
     
  2. JayRockers!

    JayRockers! Member+

    Aug 4, 2001
    849703817742561280 is not a valid tweet id


    Thx,

    Jay!
     
  3. threeputzzz

    threeputzzz Member+

    May 27, 2009
    Minnesota
    He gave a free kick coming out for that? I've seen experienced refs make this mistake before but not at the pro level.
     
  4. threeputzzz

    threeputzzz Member+

    May 27, 2009
    Minnesota
    I'm reading on the guardian website the FK was outside the area - which can only mean (I think) that for some reason Stroud changed his mind about the PK call before the PK was taken.
     
  5. JayRockers!

    JayRockers! Member+

    Aug 4, 2001
    But to award the FK to the team that committed the foul?

    At any rate, it does look like there's pretty clear encroachment at the top of the line of players. Is it a new rule that the penalty is dis-awarded? Or should this have been retaken?

    Thx,

    Jay!
     
  6. JayRockers!

    JayRockers! Member+

    Aug 4, 2001
    Latest speculation is that the referee spotted a foul by a Newcastle player after the PK but before the attempt. IFK awarded.

    Thx,

    Jay!
     
  7. JayRockers!

    JayRockers! Member+

    Aug 4, 2001
    #7 JayRockers!, Apr 5, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2017
    The player in question is Dwight Gayle. He's the one who's clearly level with the PK taker Ritchie when the attempt is taken.

    Thx,

    Jay!
     
  8. fairplayforlife

    fairplayforlife Member+

    Mar 23, 2011
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    That should still be irrelevant shouldn't it? Until the ball reaches the goal or keeper we are still "taking the PK" so other infractions not directly related to the PK procedure can be misconduct but can't change the restart correct? Or am I missing something.
     
  9. MassachusettsRef

    MassachusettsRef Moderator
    Staff Member

    Apr 30, 2001
    Washington, DC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    I wouldn't even begin to guess or spend the mental energy trying to figure this one out. There's a lot of speculation already in the media around this. So much so that the FA will need to say something. Either you'll get an official explanation that explains what Stroud correctly called or you'll get an admission that he misapplied the Laws. I'd just stay tuned.
     
    fairplayforlife and JayRockers! repped this.
  10. mathguy ref

    mathguy ref Member

    Nov 15, 2016
    TX
    Club:
    Manchester United FC
    There appear to be 8-10 players infringing before the kick, with the first one and most egregious at the top. Thats clealy a NUFC player. If they infringe on their own kick and it goes in, you retake. Did he have brain lock? I dont see anything else going on but its pretty shaky.
     
  11. RedStar91

    RedStar91 Member+

    Sep 7, 2011
    Club:
    FK Crvena Zvezda Beograd
    My guess is he disallowed the goal because of the Newcastle player that encroached at the top right near him. You can see clearly that the yellow player is yelling at the ref saying he encroached.

    My guess is the referee got the new law changes confused when the kicker commits a violation that the kick is not retaken and it's an IFK coming out.

    That's all I got here. Otherwise, this is a grave mistake.
     
  12. threeputzzz

    threeputzzz Member+

    May 27, 2009
    Minnesota
    #12 threeputzzz, Apr 5, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2017
    Hard for me to believe he simply forgot this would be a retake if the reports that the subsequent FK was taken from outside the PA are correct. Also anything that happens after the PK is called but before it's taken would not change the restart. I think he must have been getting info over the headset just as the PK was being taken.

    EDIT: Have now found clip on NU twitter page that clearly shows FK being set up *inside* the PA, near the spot. Back to being stumped.
     
  13. JayRockers!

    JayRockers! Member+

    Aug 4, 2001
    sitruc and IASocFan repped this.
  14. Bubba Atlanta

    Bubba Atlanta Member+

    Mar 2, 2012
    Yep, Atlanta
    Club:
    Atlanta United FC
    Wow ... that's the kind of thing I want -- and tell -- my ARs to run out and body slam me before they let me do it.
     
  15. akindc

    akindc Member+

    Jun 22, 2006
    Washington, DC
    And that's the bigger question...between two ARs and a 4th, how did no one catch it?
     
    threeputzzz repped this.
  16. Thezzaruz

    Thezzaruz Member+

    Jun 20, 2011
    Club:
    Arsenal FC
    Nat'l Team:
    Sweden
    From what I've heard Stroud had a 2 min discussion with one of his ARs but refused to accept that he was wrong.
     
    beamish repped this.
  17. Bubba Atlanta

    Bubba Atlanta Member+

    Mar 2, 2012
    Yep, Atlanta
    Club:
    Atlanta United FC
  18. Sport Billy

    Sport Billy Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 25, 2006
    Can a game at that level not be replayed when an obvious misapplication occurs?
     
  19. MassachusettsRef

    MassachusettsRef Moderator
    Staff Member

    Apr 30, 2001
    Washington, DC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    I imagine it would have been if the result were affected.

    As it stands, Newcastle still won. And their GD is extraordinarily unlikely to matter at the end of the season. If either of those things were untrue, I'd bet we'd have a replay or a restart from the PK--whichever one the FA regulations more clearly stipulate.
     
  20. JasonMa

    JasonMa Member+

    Mar 20, 2000
    Arvada, CO
    Club:
    Colorado Rapids
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    But Burton is in a relegation fight so their GD also matters. Though they are likely to survive without using it.
     
    JayRockers! repped this.
  21. MassachusettsRef

    MassachusettsRef Moderator
    Staff Member

    Apr 30, 2001
    Washington, DC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    True. But I imagine any replay has to be prompted, at least initially, by a protest of the result from one of the two teams involved. Looking at the table, is either side going to protest a 1-0 win for Newcastle, particularly knowing a replay means they have to play another 90 minutes in an already crowded fixture schedule? Almost certainly not. Burton can't risk it being 2-0 or worse, while Newcastle has no reason to risk getting a different result other than a win.

    Different circumstances, yes, this is probably getting replayed or restarted from the PK. In this case, neither side wants that.
     
  22. socal lurker

    socal lurker Member+

    May 30, 2009
    [QUOTE="fairplayforlife, post: 35309623, member: 187127"]That should still be irrelevant shouldn't it? Until the ball reaches the goal or keeper we are still "taking the PK" so other infractions not directly related to the PK procedure can be misconduct but can't change the restart correct? Or am I missing something.[/QUOTE]

    Yes, but only sort of. You are, of course, correct that once play stops there cannot be a foul on the kicking team that changes the restart until the restart occurs. But the ball is in play
    when it is kicked and clearly moves. So, theoretically at least, if a foul by the kicking team occurred after the ball was kicked, but before the ball reached the goal/GK, since the ball was in play the foul would be punished. But here in the real world, hard to imagine. Maybe a hold that continued during the kick?

    Re the event -- egad! I'm stunned that this mistake could happen at this level. Makes forgetting to put the arm back up on an IFK look trivial! (Not can it be blamed on last summer's changes about the kicker offenses: the illegal feint and wrong kicker resulting in an IFK coming out were not new -- those were existing interpretations that were written in, not something new.)
     
  23. Thezzaruz

    Thezzaruz Member+

    Jun 20, 2011
    Club:
    Arsenal FC
    Nat'l Team:
    Sweden
    Stroud is not having a good day. Someone dug up this story from a few years ago. Doesn't look good but might actually help explain why he acted as he did yesterday.

    [​IMG]
     
    JayRockers! repped this.
  24. Thezzaruz

    Thezzaruz Member+

    Jun 20, 2011
    Club:
    Arsenal FC
    Nat'l Team:
    Sweden
    #24 Thezzaruz, Apr 6, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2017
    He's also getting beaten with this clip from a few months ago. Bit harsh IMO, looks very justifiable to me.


    [​IMG]



    Edit:
    It wont allow me to embed the actual clip, but it's a regular twitter post so nothing to be afraid about. ;)
     
    JayRockers! and sitruc repped this.
  25. fairplayforlife

    fairplayforlife Member+

    Mar 23, 2011
    Nat'l Team:
    United States

    Yes, but only sort of. You are, of course, correct that once play stops there cannot be a foul on the kicking team that changes the restart until the restart occurs. But the ball is in play
    when it is kicked and clearly moves. So, theoretically at least, if a foul by the kicking team occurred after the ball was kicked, but before the ball reached the goal/GK, since the ball was in play the foul would be punished. But here in the real world, hard to imagine. Maybe a hold that continued during the kick?

    Re the event -- egad! I'm stunned that this mistake could happen at this level. Makes forgetting to put the arm back up on an IFK look trivial! (Not can it be blamed on last summer's changes about the kicker offenses: the illegal feint and wrong kicker resulting in an IFK coming out were not new -- those were existing interpretations that were written in, not something new.)[/QUOTE]
    Fair point. I guess I was using the logic that if we have an outside agent interfere while the ball is going forward to goal we have a retake no matter what. 17-18 law changes aside. Once the ball reaches the goal or keeper if the outside agent interferes we have a dropped ball.

    Ugh but now I'm remembering that if the ball is played forward another player can then kick it. Why do PKs break all the formulas for restarts?!
     

Share This Page