Dribbling to the Corners

Discussion in 'Player' started by doctor_mooch, Jul 4, 2009.

1. doctor_mooch

doctor_mooch Member

Apr 12, 2008
    Vancouver
    Club:
    Manchester United FC
    Nat'l Team:
    Spain
    I'm just wondering when professionals , or when YOU would dribble into a corner and hold it to waste time? I kno most professional teams have players do that with some time left, while others don't do it at all. Whats your opinion on when to do it and in what situation

2. footreads

footreads New Member

May 30, 2009
    Club:
    Real Madrid
    My oppionion on this I would is I would never think of doing that when I was a player. In fact it would piss me off if an opponent tried to do that to me. So much so when I went for a tackle I would miss and get his ankles hard by accident.

As a coach my guys would get pissed off, and when they go for the tackle they would miss and hit the opponents ankles by accident hard until they stopped doing it.

If your holding the ball in a corner your in the lead. It is like a slap in the face to an opponent in my eyes. National theam US do it against Mexico and see what happens to the player trying to do it.

You have a ton of back space to work in when you have the ball near your attacking goal. Use that ton of back space. Once you get the ball into that space. You have a ton of options you can possibly shoot, you can cross, you can pass the ball across the field or you can back pass further back, then you can pass the ball back across the field, or you can back pass again.

All that ball movement can waste a lot of time, and the opponents job is to win it back. Then no one will get pissed off. Your just playing the ball away from pressure.

3. garethchelsea

garethchelsea Member

Jul 6, 2006
    Lewes, UK
    Club:
    Chelsea FC
    Nat'l Team:
    England