Did the ref make the right call

Discussion in 'Referee' started by RobertoCarlos2004, Oct 8, 2003.

1. RobertoCarlos2004

RobertoCarlos2004 New Member

Oct 8, 2003
    U.S.
    Ok guys sorry if i posted this in the wrong place im a newb still getting used to the forums. ok i play forward for my highschool team. ok i did a slide tackle on their forward since the goalie was the only object left and it was inside the box so of course he got a penalty kick. well they scored. ok i got passed the ball and drove it upfield when one of their forwards did the same to me. the ref didnt even call a penalty. when my coach came out to check on me the ref said "he was just paying him back for earlier". i mean i hate to sound biased but good god man how could he have not called that

2. jacathcart

jacathcart New Member

Oct 11, 2002
    Tacoma WA
    Roberto,

This is what we on this list call YHTBT (You Had To Be There). A slide tackle is not an automatic foul. Were you (or the other player) going primarily for the ball or the player? Did you tackle from behind? Was the tackle unnecessarily violent? did yiou take out the man after youi got the ball or did he trip over your extended legs? Were both feet down or did you have one up?

If you want opinions here on interpretations of the laws youi have to give as many facts as possible. If you want to know if a ref exercised his or her judgment and discretion properly you will rpobably just get YHTBT because we will not second guess a ref's judgment if we don't know what went on.

Jim

3. Scott Zawadzki

Feb 18, 1999
    Midlothian, VA
    Club:
    New England Revolution
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    I agree with the YHTBT. I have a huge problem with a referee saying

Sounds to me like a referee who doesn't really understand the game!

Scott

4. nsa

nsa Member+

New England Revolution
    United States
    Feb 22, 1999
    Notboston, MA
    Club:
    New England Revolution
    Nat'l Team:
    United States