Condi on Meet The Press

Discussion in 'Politics & Current Events' started by Cascarino's Pizzeria, Dec 18, 2005.

1. Cascarino's Pizzeria

Apr 29, 2001
    New Jersey, USA
    Trying to spin the latest corrosion of your privacy.

President acting under presidential and constitutional authority ("but I'm no lawyer"). NSA is closing "seam" between national & international communications between terrorists. Brings up 9/11 commission and fact that closing the link between terrorists here & abroad was hard to do.

Russert - "No one has explained what authority the President has. Nixon tried the same thing and was prevented from doing so."

2. Cascarino's Pizzeria

Apr 29, 2001
    New Jersey, USA
    Russert brings up Arlen Specter's highly critical comments in Congress on Fri. Specter wants to know what info. was gathered about who, when and why it was gathered. Condi still spinning about the need to protect us post-9/11.

Condi was Nat'l Security Advisor but won't comment on her role at that time.

Feingold said Prez. may have broken the law. Basically Congress is P!SSED about the Executive branch creating their own laws.

Russert - "Where in the law does it say the President can wiretap?" Condi says he has authority under the Constitution (?). She doesn't know what law of course.

Russert - "You expect this to go to the Supreme Court"

3. purojogo

purojogo Member

Sep 23, 2001
    US/Peru home
    Club:
    New York Red Bulls
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    another party in control of congress..... and this'd be so much more seriously handled.... Not that it should not now regardless.....
    BTW, Russert, like many people who do interviews of poiliticians... never goes far enough in his questioning...Already changed to Iraqi constitution topic... i thought we were not done talking about the US one at the time? :confused: :rolleyes:

4. YankHibee

YankHibee Member+

Mar 28, 2005
    indianapolis