Combine the WCs for a celebratory date or for 3 years

Discussion in 'Women's World Cup' started by Hexa, Mar 5, 2021.

1. Hexa

Hexa Member+

May 21, 2010
    Club:
    Vasco da Gama Rio Janeiro
    I am new to WoSo, so if this has already been discussed (I could not find it), please delete it.

There are market forces that explain why WC and WWC have such different pay out. The best argument, IMHO, for the need for equal pay even with unequal revenue is that WC has a long history of investment and media coverage.

However, why segregate the FIFA's world cup in the first place? We have co-ed Olympics and all the major Tennis grand slams. There are no real technical or organizational reasons that would prevent a combined WC.

WWC will eventually catch up to her big brother, and it will be great to have a global Wo sport that is big as the super ball. Combining the Cups for good would be wrong, but what about having a Celebratory WC together (150 years of Fifa) or for three Cups. A Combined CUP would mean equal pay (now), higher exposure and investment, and a massive incentive for the Wo game.

West Ender and soccernutter repped this.
  2. soccernutter

soccernutter Moderator
    Staff Member

Tottenham Hotspur
    Aug 22, 2001
    Near the mountains.
    Club:
    Tottenham Hotspur FC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Welcome to WoSo (term specific).

There is actually a legit reason to keep the players separated, and that is men (using this term specifically) are bigger and faster and stronger so there is a safety issue, at the highest level. And I say this speaking as one who, when in HS, our women's team (term specific) was technically and tactically better (my junior and senior year of HS, they were Top 25 in the nation), yet on the few occasions we played against, we ran circles around them because we were faster and stronger.