College investing

Discussion in 'Finance, Investing & Economy' started by StrikerCW, Jul 21, 2005.

1. StrikerCW

StrikerCW Member

Jul 10, 2001
    Perth, WA
    Club:
    Manchester United FC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Hello,

I'm a college student, however, I have some extra money from my summer job this year and was wondering what the posters on this board thought about investing in college?

I am looking for something more than just the average saving account as I am trying to look forward to the future whilst I have some extra cash now.

Any opinions are appreciated.

2. johno

johno Member+

Jul 15, 2003
    in the wind
    Club:
    Manchester United FC
    Nat'l Team:
    --other--
    I'm far from a financial wizard, but I do know that if you plan to stay in an area for more than say 3 or 4 years its probably a good idea to purchase a house. It sounds like a big deal, but if you haven't owned one yet, there are benefits to you that you can look into, the down payment on some places plus what you get for being a first time home owner makes buying a house and paying a mortgage much smarter than renting, considering what you will save on dorm fees/renting its a smart move. Especially if you get a duplex, or get a roommate who can split the mortgage with you (ie, they pay you rent, but you own the house) by the time 5 years or so rolls around you'll have saved quite a bit just based on not paying as much in rent/dorm fees not to mention the equity you will have built up.

3. Sachin

Sachin New Member

Jan 14, 2000
    La Norte
    Club:
    DC United
    Nothing personal, but that's terrible advice, given that he probably doesn't have the money for a down payment, or the income necessary to cover a mortgage or the maintainance costs that come with renting a house to college-age kids.

Striker, find a high-quality mutual fund (perhaps from the Vanguard family) and put your money in there. Let it grow over time and add to it when you can.

Sachin