Business ethics help!!

Discussion in 'Finance, Investing & Economy' started by admerr, Jul 22, 2009.

1. admerr

admerr Member

Aug 12, 2008
    Dallas
    Club:
    Arsenal FC
    The Story: I have been working for a major financial institution throughout college. I graduated last year and have been looking to begin a career in the recruiting industry. On July 9th, I was offered a position at a local Dallas Medical Recruiting company. I gladly accepted, and signed the acceptance letter and faxed it into the corporate office. I received numerous e-mails stating that they did receive my acceptance of the offer, and that they look forward to my start date of July 27th. The next morning( July 10th) I handed in my two weeks letter of resignation to my current employer.

As of yesterday (July 21st), my new-soon-to-be employer e-mailed me saying that they are rescinding my current offer.

Here's where it gets bad:

My final day of employment with my current company is tomorrow July 23rd. Being a Texas resident, do I have any legal action against the company who more or less, put me out of work? Yeah, by the way, I am unable to file for unemployment because I resigned from my current position.

On top of all of this- I am $25K in debt with student loans, and I am getting married first week of November.

Yay America!!

I am glad to provide the company that put me up Sh!T$ creek if anybody is curious.

2. Sachin

Sachin New Member

Jan 14, 2000
    La Norte
    Club:
    DC United
    I don't think there is anything you can do.

See if you can rescind your resignation. If you were a good employee, the company you currently work for may be willing to keep you.

3. bostonsoccermdl

bostonsoccermdl Moderator
    Staff Member

Apr 3, 2002
    Denver, CO
    uggh that sucks.

Did they give a reason for rescinding? I have no idea legally, but I would check with a lawyer..