Budget Bill Passage Delayed over Arctic Oil Drilling

Discussion in 'Politics & Current Events' started by BudWiser, Dec 20, 2005.

1. BudWiser

BudWiser New Member

Jul 17, 2000
    Falls Church, VA
  2. LiverpoolFanatic

Liverpool FC, Philadelphia Union
    Feb 19, 2000
    Lancaster, PA
    Club:
    Liverpool FC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    It's an incredibly fragile eco-system. Bio-diversity is imperative for a healthy planet to sustain life of any kind. We're already destroying habitats right left and center for big business.

There isn't that much oil there to begin with from what I understand--but I am not a petrochemical engineer, and it would take a long time to develop. It would do next to nothing to reduce our dependence on foriegn oil. The money spent to develop ANWR would be better spent on developing nojn-fossil fuel alternatives.

3. speedcake

speedcake Member

Dec 2, 1999
    Tampa
    Club:
    FC Tampa Bay Rowdies
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Instead of putting more money into serious research towards finding viable alternatives to oil and thusly ending our dependancy on Middle Eastern dictators/kings, we're going to open up one of the last unspoiled tracts of wilderness left on the planet for the equivelant of a few drops of oil on the scale of decades.

Yeah, there are reasons we shouldn't do this other than wildlife.

4. CrewDust

CrewDust Member

May 6, 1999
    Columbus, Ohio
    Club:
    Columbus Crew
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Also, the Alaskan Pipe Line is getting old an in need of replacement, it probably doesn't have much excess capacity left.

5. Malaga CF fan

Malaga CF fan Member

Apr 19, 2000
    Fairfax, VA
    Club:
    Colorado Rapids
    Nat'l Team:
    United States