BigSoccer Blues Thread

Discussion in 'Movies, TV and Music' started by nicodemus, Dec 18, 2005.

1. nicodemus

nicodemus Member+

Sep 3, 2001
    Cidade Mágica
    Club:
    PAOK Saloniki
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    In the last several months, I've been getting more and more into the blues. I'm still a bit of a novice in the genre and have only begun to scratch the surface, but so far, my favorite stuff is the Mississippi Hill Country stuff. I also really like acoustic blues.

Some of the players I'm really into are:

RL Burnside
    Paul "Wine" Jones
    JW Warren
    Son House
    Robert Caldwell
    Junior Kimbrough
    Willie King

Those are the ones that come to mind right off the bat. I'd love to have some more recommendations.

2. Gunner Phan

Gunner Phan Member

Dec 12, 2003
    Gramercy, NYC
    I won't claim to be a blues expert. One of my phirst blues cd's was BB King "Live at San Quentin". 'Nobody Loves Me But My Mother' is one of my phavorites phrom that disc.

3. royalstilton

royalstilton Member

Aug 2, 2004
    SoCal
    Club:
    Liverpool FC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    ---
    thing is, if you like acoustic blues the best, then you gotta love Robert Johnson, whose guitar playing pretty much sets the pace for everything before 1940 (and after, but that's a topic for debate ). nothing shocking in that recommendation. my favorites are Howlin' Wolf and Muddy Waters, as far as singers go. their instrumental chops have never won any acclaim. and the best blues guitar player may be Buddy Guy, but his recorded work is just very good. if you've had the advantage of seeing a live performance, you know how amazing he is.

Albert Collins is very strong, as is Albert King ( Born Under a Bad Sign is a classic ).

Muddy and Johnny Winter playing together on I Can't Be Satisfied is a favorite. ( the Hard Again album )

4. nicodemus

nicodemus Member+

Sep 3, 2001
    Cidade Mágica
    Club:
    PAOK Saloniki
    Nat'l Team:
    United States