Aggressiveness

Discussion in 'Coach' started by Youjustgotshutdown11, Sep 28, 2003.

1. how do you teach your players to play?

Do you tell them to go out and put there body into players and do you coach them to be tough and go hard into every challenge.

I am new to coaching and as a player i play defense.
    I have always been taught to go hard and strong to the person with the ball because it is mental as much as physical.
    If a player knows things are going to be rough it hurts there concentration and there route of attack because there worried about being hit.

Just wondering about other opinions on the subject.

Also is payback a good thing to teach a team. I beleive it can bring a team together because all members of the team know they have someone watching there back. But thats just me.

2. Richie

Richie Red Card

May 6, 1999
    Brooklyn, NY, United
    "Do you tell them to go out and put there body into players and do you coach them to be tough and go hard into every challenge."

I didn't tell them anything we worked on it on the practice field. Tacking is about timming to win the ball. You have to tackle hard because if the opponent is tackling hard and you are not. You are open for getting hurt so even in practice you tackle hard but fair. You have to train so technically you know when and how to tackle. How would you teach them technically the stand up block tackle?

If all you can do is foul, and you can't win the ball. Chances are you will lose that match.

Remember your not out there to hurt people just to win the game. If I saw a player intentionally try and hurt the opponent, and did not go to play the ball, and the official misses it. I will pull my own player off the field because we are not there for that just to win. Any dummy can hurt somebody that's easy.
    -----------------------