Bob, why wasn’t that a PK? If a foul starts outside the box but finishes inside the box, it isn’t a PK? Also, there is no VAR in USOC?
I think only if player re-wins the advantage. In this case, the foul began outside the box and the defender continued holding him whichh was then he progressed forward falling down into the penalty area but the foul began outside.
It should be a PK but the AR was unsure enough that the Portland players successfully bullied the ref into not giving it.
I’m checking out. Can’t handle another half hour + potentially PKs. It’s later here and I’m tired. Hope we win!
The final score is: 1 – 0 GO SAN JOSE EARTHQUAKES!!! -G P.S. = Please don't post results of other soccer games and other sports' games in this thread until at least 24 hours after they've ended.
The Earthquakes have now reached the U.S. Open Cup quarterfinals for the ninth time in team history and for the first time since 2017. GO SAN JOSE EARTHQUAKES!!! -G
I hope someone is left to play against Houston. We very much deserved the win but another game in four days? Brutal.
On the broadcast there was mention of a draw happening Thursday AM for the rest of the tournament rounds. I think it will all be decided then including who hosts.
Floriani helped his cause a lot tonight--he looked really solid and had a couple excellent sliding tackles in the box. He seemed really confident on the ball as well. Another good outing for Jones as well. Edwards also played great. He's my MOM.
It was a holding foul, in which case the foul is called where the holding began. I don't like that rule, but that's what it is.
A holding foul that begins outside the penalty area and continues inside, is a penalty kick. I was in the Ultra section so didn't have a great view, but it looked like the center ref did not call a foul in real time. The AR then called the foul and stepped towards the corner flag (it looked that way to me from far away, but I could be wrong), which would indicate that it was inside and a PK. The response from Portland seemed to be focused on the AR who made the call. After a few yellow cards the center ultimately decided that the foul occured outside the penalty area, which would not be not a holding foul that continued into the box. It would be nice to hear their explanation.
If that is the case and thinking it overr more, why did the center ref not even make an initial call until he saw the linesman's flag going up? Whether it was inside or outside the box, there was a clear foul! To me anyway , it seemed like the ref was going to let play continue on with no foul if the linesman didn’t intervene but how can he not see a foul there?