2 Classic Questions

Discussion in 'Referee' started by GiggsNewWzrdOfHgwrts, Oct 24, 2003.

  1. GiggsNewWzrdOfHgwrts

    May 9, 2003
    A Couple Questions, thanks in advance:

    1. Inadvertant handball in the box, play on or indirect free kick for the opposition from inside the box?

    2. Throw-in back to the keeper from teammate, can he handle in his area?
  2. Norfolk

    Norfolk Member

    Mar 22, 2001
    1. Inadvertant = unintentional, therefore play on.

    2. No, he can't use his hands.
  3. blech

    blech Member+

    Jun 24, 2002

    correct, i would add:

    2. if goalie does use hands, indirect free kick in the box (related to '1', this pass back scenario to the goalie - off a throw in or in the run of play - is the only situation where a handball can result in an "indirect" kick)
  4. IASocFan

    IASocFan Moderator
    Staff Member

    Aug 13, 2000
    Sporting Kansas City
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Inadvertent handball is nothing - no call. A throw-in handled by the keeper in the penalty area was previously legal (before about 1997). FIFA decided that along with the pass back from a teammate that this was a means of slowing the game. Hence both were restricted (i.e. the keeper could no longer handle.)
  5. GiggsNewWzrdOfHgwrts

    May 9, 2003
  6. jkc313

    jkc313 Member

    Nov 21, 2001
    1. Handling must be deliberate. No call.
    2. Not if received directly from the thrower

Share This Page