Oh, that changes everything
So Morocco, Korea, Wales, and Netherlands (but not until after they were eliminated).
Horrible camera work - not mine - but looks like a caution followed by a red. That’s how it looks but could be different.
But unfairly not giving a team the numerical advantage they deserve is simply wrong.
Totally different game if it becomes 10v11 there. Not only...
It should be a card. It is one of those handling situations that bring disrespect to the game.
It would be cautioned in most games.
The fact that Messi stayed on the pitch was unjust. It reminded me of Jordan-era NBA.
The keeper approaching the spot/kicker should be a caution. Brings nothing but disrespect to the game.
No one became a Messi fan today.
I don’t think it was moaning rather a ref who realizes he’s totally lost and just wants out.
If true. Very unfortunate and very unfair.
That type of activity is cautioned more than it is a send off at this level. No, it didn’t have to be two send offs. It could have justifiably 3...
It is as much of a mandatory caution as the player who got his second yellow from removing his jersey.
Horrible should have been a second caution and a caution for Van Dijk
Don't forget, his Phd is in Recreation/Leisure Studies.
Surprised the handling wasn't given
I just had an 11-year-old ask, "Do they have a mercy rule in the World Cup like we do?"
They both deservedly received a caution and a speaking to.
The moment the ref stopped talking to them. Xhaka ran 10 yards towards the opponent...
#10 should have gotten a second yellow. You get a caution and immediately try to start shit again? Second caution time.
That looked painful
Great work by the AR there
Wow - thank you. Jason, sorry.
I could have sworn we had this come up in a game in the last few years (City maybe) where numerous players were in...
It does not. That's why attackers who cut the ball back to the center of the penalty area after a run often intentionally leave the field of play.
The shove of the official on the way out will hopefully be punished post-match.
Yes, but because the ball didn't go directly/immediately in the goal, the "accidental" language does not apply.