Coaching U6 absolute beginners

Discussion in 'Coach' started by MilwaukeeChris, Aug 24, 2004.

1. MilwaukeeChris

MilwaukeeChris New Member

Jul 22, 2003
    Milwaukee
    I've agreed to coach a U6 team this fall. The team will be 4 and 5 year olds that have never played soccer (or any other organized activities). My goals are (1) to leave the players thinking that soccer is really fun and (2)beginning to teach some fundamentals. Any advise on how I should structure my weekly practices toward those ends?

MilwaukeeChris

2. Bonji

Bonji Moderator

Feb 4, 2003
    Denver, Colorado
    Club:
    Colorado Rapids
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    I don't really know what fundamentals you're going to get across to such young kinds beyond dribble, pass and score. I think you're correct in just trying to make the game fun for them. I would have them working with a ball the entire time. Don't have them run, just have games with balls. I don't even know what games I'd play with such youngins'.

Good luck!

3. IASocFan

IASocFan Moderator
    Staff Member

Aug 13, 2000
    IOWA
    Club:
    Sporting Kansas City
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    KEEP it FUN. KEEP it simple.
    Lots of games and lots of touches with the ball.

Everybody dribble the ball to the cone and return (everyone needs a ball).

Have the 3-6 parents stand around the field with their legs spread(Protect yourselves, parents!), and have them all shoot the ball between their legs.

Set out some cones, and have them follow you as you dribble around them.

Monster (of monkey) in the middle. Set up two lines of cones as sidelines. Have the players try to dribble from one end. In the middle is a kid, coach or parent trying to defend. If you don't make it to the end, you join the monsters in the middle; if you make it to the end, you get to go back the other way and try to avoid the monsters. Last one(s) through wins.