You're Hired! (What would you do?)

Discussion in 'USA Women: News and Analysis' started by Motterman, Oct 22, 2007.

1. Motterman

Motterman Member

Jul 8, 2002
    Orlando, FL
    Club:
    Manchester United FC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Let's say Sunil Gulati announces you as the new US Women's National Team coach.

What is your first (2nd and/or 3rd) order of business?

What would be your master plan for getting ready for the Olympics next summer?

2. dspence2311

dspence2311 Member+

Oct 14, 2007
    1. Make sure you're in charge before you take the job.

2. Widen the player pool invited to camp. Review WC performance player by player and ask honestly whether anyone else in camp can do better.

This group isn't getting it done. No automatic positions based on past performance.

3. Pick your team and don't look back.

3. gmm1

gmm1 New Member

Oct 13, 2007
    Tough question, as I have no experience and lack the expertise, but that won't stop me...

1. Notify everyone the "for real try-outs for the Olympic team start in Jan - no one has a spot.

2. Contact every college team in US for an in-depth review of their teams.

3. Locate and hire the very best support coaching staff possible.

4. Act as "team manager" and let the experts go to work.

5. Prepare my dismissal speech so it's ready on a minute's notice.

4. Dogbreath

Dogbreath New Member

Sep 10, 2007
    Maui
    First, I'd hire a shrink to figure out what'sd wrong with me!
    Get a staff. Or a baseball bat.
    Fire the 'tard PR guy who got the ball rolling for the Hope fiasco.
    Get the existing team together(yes, all of them) and have a listen as a group and individually. Take notes.
    Let the team know that the status quo is unacceptable, that the goal is #1, and tryouts will be held. No one is sacred
    Evaluate talent of existing players and the prospective additions with staff. Send out invites.