Worse Season Ever

Discussion in 'Coach' started by MPOster, Jun 6, 2019.

1. MPOster

MPOster New Member

Nov 2, 2015
    Club:
    Chelsea FC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    I would be interested in hearing stories of your worse season ever and I don't mean your record but what happened in your interaction with other coaches, board, parents or player(s)

Here's Mine:

I have been doing this since 2001 so I have a pretty good feel and routine for girls soccer. Been to a couple of championships, won a few tournaments and even had straight losing seasons. This spring season I decided to combine some great playing girls from two different AYSO regions to form a select team that were not chosen as all-stars but definitely had talent and loved the game. Love of the game was first priority.

I saddled up with a winning Hispanic coach from the other region and we then invited 6 and 6 players each side. I was shocked to see all the girls from different socio-economic backgrounds and race melt and play so well together but I learned one important rule. Never co-coach with anyone. There needs to be ONE head coach and all the rest are assistants. While this coach was really good at training he lost track of what is important to 12U girls and that is ... Fun.