What's Your Return? (or pay in) '05 Edition

Discussion in 'Finance, Investing & Economy' started by peledre, Jan 26, 2006.

1. peledre

peledre Member

Mar 25, 2001
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Club:
    Chicago Fire
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Turbotax tells me that I gave the Government a $925 interest free loan this year. With a deal like that you'd think that they'd have the courtesy to at least give you a reach around.

2. odg78

odg78 Member

Feb 14, 2001
    North Carolina
    --I don't know my return yet so this might not be appropriate, but how do you like TurboTax? I've been looking at some tax filing software and I'm trying to get an idea how people like this one. Do you actually file electronically using the program? Are there any extra fees other than the purchase price?

3. peledre

peledre Member

Mar 25, 2001
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Club:
    Chicago Fire
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    This is my first year with it. I love it so far, extremely easy to use and very comprehensive. I haven't actually filed yet because I'm still waiting on my official w-2 from my current employer. They have all of their payroll stuff online though, so I could access everything I needed to for my taxes.

4. Footer Phooter

Jul 23, 2000
    Falls Church, VA
    Haven't gotten all the W-2s in yet, but "napkin math" tells me we'll owe about $1,000 this year. Guess we shouldn't have booked that vacation. :eek:

5. Glenwood Lane United

Apr 28, 2001
    Hanover Park, IL
    Club:
    Chicago Fire
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Being refunded about $1,150 for Fed, about $200 for state.

I just view it as sort of a Christmas Club, except I don't get the $$$ until around Presidents Day.

6. peledre

peledre Member

Mar 25, 2001
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Club:
    Chicago Fire
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    I've been told that if you file electronically with turbotax you can get your refund in as little as 10 days, anyone have any experience with this?