U14 Offers - Do You Pick the Club or Team or Coach?

Discussion in 'Girls Youth Soccer' started by 5x300games, Nov 15, 2011.

1. 5x300games

5x300games New Member

Oct 6, 2005
    SE Wisconsin
    Theoretical question: Your dd gets three offers for a U14 team. Which one of these do you take and why?

1) A great team (best team in the area at their age group - easily beats both #2 and #3 below) playing for a relatively new club with a good coach;

2) A great coach (known developer of youth talent) with a good 1s team on a relatively new club

3) A national-level club (e.g. FC Milwaukee) on a good 1s team with a good coach.

Sconnie repped this.
  2. bigredfutbol

bigredfutbol Moderator
    Staff Member

Sep 5, 2000
    Woodbridge, VA
    Club:
    DC United
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    I'm not an expert; but my advice is to forget about the "great team" because really, who cares who's beating who at U14?

My preference would be for the great coach who's known for developing talent at the new club; but I don't know enough about FC Milwaukee to know why they're considered "great." If it's for club-wide support of development and patience with individual players, then great--maybe consider them as well.

But really, my advice is to go with a coach who wants your daughter and has the patience and skill to help her develop.

My two cents.

JustPlayTheGame repped this.
  3. 5x300games

5x300games New Member

Oct 6, 2005
    SE Wisconsin
    You can't just discard the great team outright because you would be missing the opportunity to practice against the best players. (In theory.)

4. bigredfutbol

bigredfutbol Moderator
    Staff Member

Sep 5, 2000
    Woodbridge, VA
    Club:
    DC United
    Nat'l Team:
    United States