Support for Rochester team from Broader Upstate NY area

Discussion in 'Rochester Rhinos' started by nh_ny, Jul 13, 2004.

1. nh_ny

nh_ny Member

Jul 12, 2004
    upstate NY
    newbie here.

I'm just wondering how much of an increased fan base there will be will be for the Rhinos if they take the step up to MLS. In particular, I imagine a lot of folks from the surrounding areas (Buffalo, Syracuse, northern NY, central NY) that are not current Rhinos fans would become real supporters of the major league franchise.

I myself am from the Utica area and would even be willing to make the 2+ hour trek down the Thruway to see MLS games (but I'm not really an A-league follower, of either the Rhinos or Salty Dogs).

Any fellow upstaters outside Rochester who would become bigtime Rhinos supporters if they make the jump to MLS?

2. Brownswan

Brownswan New Member

Jun 30, 1999
    Port St. Lucie, FL
    Which begs the question: why? Or why not?

While I feel fortunate to have Metro and MLS a subway-and-bus ride away
    (soon to be shortened to a ride on the PATH), if I didn't have that I'd be making making my way to Brooklyn or LI to see the nearest available team -- and that's below A-League.

Within 5 years my wife and I expect to be in Florida -- and that means A-League at best. But from what I've seen on the FSW Friday night matches, the matches are worth watching.

If you can't be with the one you love, love the one you're with. :)

3. nh_ny

nh_ny Member

Jul 12, 2004
    upstate NY
    --Yes, you're right -- I probably haven't given it a fair chance and should see what the quality of A-league actually is. (haven't really seen any on TV)
    However, there may be others who don't think like you and who may be new Rhinos fans only if they jump to MLS. So still the question exists: how many of these fans might there be?

4. Dante

Dante Moderator
    Staff Member

Nov 19, 1998
    Upstate NY
    Club:
    Juventus FC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States