Slide tackling- when is the right age?

Discussion in 'Coach' started by Timbuck, Sep 29, 2015.

1. Timbuck

Timbuck Member

Jul 31, 2012
    At what age should slide tackling be taught?

2. rca2

rca2 Member+

Nov 25, 2005
    I didn't teach it to U10s or U12s. I did teach poke and block tackles, which is really what a slide tackle is. My thinking was slide tackles were an advanced version and seldom used by field players. I have seen a 6 year old perform a slide tackle that an adult would be proud of. Amazing body control. It scared me though. I was afraid all the other kids would start slide tackling with dire results. At that time (mid-80s), slide tackles were not prohibited in youth matches.

USYSA documents advise that slide tackles should be prohibited at U10 and below. Keep in mind that is the player's soccer age. The U12s I coached were a mix of experienced players and complete novices, so it was back to the basics--this is a ball, this is a foot.

I suggest you check with your club as to their policy.

3. elessar78

elessar78 Moderator
    Staff Member

May 12, 2010
    Club:
    Arsenal FC
    hardest, "hardest" part about is teaching them slide tackling technique. (finding the time to teach it).

I've never really given it much thought, but my advanced U11s can be taught to use it. I started it seeing it come around naturally at U11 and U12 without prompting but I wouldn't say it's common yet.

*THE CAVEAT is that slide tackles are an emergency technique. It may promote bad habits—why stand them up when I can make a slide tackle if they get past me?

There are 3 slide tackle techniques: bottom leg tackle, top leg tackle, and sliding block tackle.

4. nicklaino

nicklaino Member+

Feb 14, 2012
    Brooklyn, NY
    Club:
    Manchester United FC
    #4 nicklaino, Sep 29, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2015
    My position on this have changed over the years.