Question #2 Who are the central midfielders?

Discussion in 'USA Men' started by HScoach13, Aug 1, 2017.

1. HScoach13

HScoach13 Member+

Nov 30, 2016
    Club:
    Atlanta
    As a coach I live by the mantra of coaching build the spine. Their seems to be many disagreements as to what the spine should look like. The short of Michael Bradley playing in the center of the park their is little agreement.

2. a. Is Christian Pulisic a wing or a CAM?

2. b. Should Nagbe play in the middle or on a wing?

2. c. Galaxy fans and others does JJ have anything left is his tank to help us now?

2. d. Did Accosta show you enough in the Gold Cup to be Bradley's partner in the middle?

2. e. What about Bedoya?

2. f. Who else should we be watching carefully to help in the middle? Danny Williams? Emo?

2. thedukeofsoccer

thedukeofsoccer Member+

Jul 11, 2004
    Wussconsin
    Club:
    AFC Ajax
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    a. depends on the opponent and formation. He needs to not be tethered inside and when he starts to dribble over long distances he tends to get wide-eyed into eventual traffic. 352 and 442 diamond are good formations for him to not get tethered. If we're going to boss the opponent or get bossed, I think he should be placed at a-wing or wing, respectively.

b. similar consideration as Chris. I think he can be an 8 against a weak opponent where we don't need as much d, 10 against a really strong one where we more need him to link up with the fw's, and in between he's outside as a standard winger or tucked in one (not attacking as he's not aggressive or creative enough).

c. No, he's an ordinary player now that he's lost a step, he plays selfishly on the field, and is bad for chemistry considering he was throwing teammates under the bus to save himself for deserved criticism from recent performances. His time should be up.