Parent/Coach/Player/Ref Dilemma

Discussion in 'Referee' started by Sport Billy, Sep 20, 2018.

1. Sport Billy

Sport Billy Moderator
    Staff Member

May 25, 2006
    #1 Sport Billy, Sep 20, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2018
    As a coach, I often tell my parents and players that there are four roles at a game: Parent/Coach/Player/Ref and that you are only allowed to be one of those during any one game.

So here's my question. When you are a parent (spectator) do you correct others when you hear them spewing ignorance of the laws?
    Ex:

Tuesday night, my u-15 son had a game.

His team has a IDFK centered, 10 yards from the top of the PA.
    Player 1 roles the ball
    Player 2 rips it off of the cross bar.
    Player 3 buries the rebound.

High school AR (parent side) raises flag. Waves off goal.

After the game (2-2 draw) a parent is screaming about the flag and how the AR blew it.

He incorrectly stated that because at the time of the shot, the AR's flag was not up, then that means no one was in an OSP and that they couldn't become offside on the rebound because they were behind the ball.

I explain to him that he is wrong and that, mechanically, the AR did everything proper and that a player in an OSP is not flagged until he becomes involved. Here, the AR determined a player was in an OSP, but the rebound could have been played by anyone. If it was played by someone other than the PIOSP, the goa would have stood. I then explained that none of us at half field had the line to determine if he was actually PIOSP so go with the AR's judgment.

He looked at me clearly disappointed that I took away his "excuse" for our team not winning.

So, do you get involved in correcting ignorance?

I tend to do it only when someone is actively spreading their ignorance.

Thoughts?

dadman and JasonMa repped this.
  2. Patrick167

Patrick167 Member+

Dortmund
    United States
    May 4, 2017