Observations at the Start of New 7v7 Format

Discussion in 'Youth & HS Soccer' started by Mr Martin, Sep 21, 2016.

1. Mr Martin

Mr Martin Member+

Jun 12, 2002
    Club:
    Philadelphia Union
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    I posted some thoughts about US Soccer's new 7v7 format in the Birth Year Movement thread, but that's really a tangent there and would benefit from having its own thread.

As background, I've been coaching travel and recreational soccer since 1988 and have taken more than a half-dozen youth travel teams from U9 through U14 and a few up to U17. I've gone through the process with my three older kids and am now back with my U9 son for another cycle. I was there for the start of 8v8 SSGs in the 1990s and now for the new mandates.

What are folks' initial experiences with the new 7v7 format, the use of build-out (or play-out) lines, the banning of heading, etc? Coaches, parents, or other observers are welcome to contribute.

In the other thread I wrote:

1) I love the new playing formats. I'm coaching my son's U9 team and playing 7v7 is great. One thing I have a strong early impression about is that the original US Soccer recommendation of a 7v7 field size of 35x47 yards is horrid. Way too tight a space, way too congested, and too many throw-ins. I have to believe that was set in order to justify fitting four 7v7 fields into one 11v11 field, or basically for bureaucratic reasons. Now that there is some flexibility in size ranges, we have set up our 7v7 fields at 40x60 yards, which works really well. Enough space to allow some dribbling and escape from the "swarm," but not so much space that the team shape becomes disjointed and disconnected.

2) The play-out line seems to be working as intended so far. But I will be curious how using that line also for offside might impact what coaches teach their defenders and forwards to do, and how that might actually encourage long balls and/or discourage defenders from moving forward to attack.